PDA

View Full Version : New user

tweeter
08-09-2013, 01:30 PM
I'm new to your forum. I'm also seriously considering buying an ATV for use at work (an option I have at my current assignment).
I'm an instructor in the army and I need to support student/candidate needs when we're out training.

My requirements are centered on utility.
I work in the desert and need to carry a 5-gallon water can (Scepter military-type), a folding litter (possibly another person in an emergency) and a medical backpack. Maybe add a smaller daypack for my own use, but I can wear that.

Reliability calls shotgun on this decision, everything else takes a back seat.

I've used a Polaris Sportsman 400 at work before, but that was in... 2005. It was also wholly supported by my unit, no idea about maintenance issues with the machines we used, if something broke we simply turned it in to get fixed.

I figure you guys are pretty experienced and I'm just trying to figure out what's out there that best fits my needs.

muddy400EX
08-09-2013, 04:32 PM
nothing beats honda for reliability. rancher, foreman etc. that would be my first first choice for a work utility

Mtndew99
08-09-2013, 07:19 PM
Get a Honda foreman one of the most reliable quads I've ever owned there isn't much maintenance on them I've been running mine for 4 years and only had to change oil and cleaned the air filter

beastlywarrior
08-11-2013, 05:25 PM
Good ol foreman

quad2xtreme
08-11-2013, 06:00 PM
Any chance of getting a SxS like a RZR?

beastlywarrior
08-11-2013, 06:50 PM
Anything but I'd recommend a rhino first

quad2xtreme
08-11-2013, 08:49 PM