PDA

View Full Version : quiet pipe?

WrAtHs
03-17-2003, 02:15 AM
I was just informed that a stock 400ex pipe is 88 db. Does anyone know what the quietest pipe is? I have to get a queiter one because of where I live. I guess I like the slip on idea, although I'm very new to all of this :)

thanks

jmoney45
03-17-2003, 02:26 AM
I had the big gun slip on with a quiet core in it, but it was still a little loud for my taste. I am going to try the MBRP exhaust, as it's supposed to be 93 db. You can check out http://www.mbrp.com for more info.

remlapr
03-17-2003, 02:39 AM
I don't think you are going to get a slip on that is quieter than a stock pipe without giving up performance. There is actually a company that make a pipe that is mean to be quiet - but they even say that it hurts performance...

WrAtHs
03-17-2003, 02:49 AM
I'm sorry. Let me clearify what I said. I just meant that I wanted to find a pipe that was quieter than most aftermarket pipes, not the stock pipe. I guess I worded that all wrong :)

remlapr
03-17-2003, 02:58 AM
Check out the FMF Q-series, Or maybe Yoshimura.

03-17-2003, 03:08 AM
I say the Q by Fmf but be ready to pay! maybe check ebay. And i think the yosh's sound good but when u hammer it they get loud.

zoom400ex
03-17-2003, 04:56 AM
my e series is pretty quiet compared ot most aftermarket exhausts, but is still pretty loud in my opinion. they make quiet cores for them and you could play around with the tunable disc a alittle bit.

400exdad
03-17-2003, 05:49 AM