PDA

View Full Version : wat jet to go with

12-12-2001, 06:24 PM
I am getting a s bend slip on and am wonering what jet to get. I have very little experience wth jets and would like no how hard they are to install. I race in michigan and i get all my stuf from the place call dave bomens teck care and suspention. they sugest not gtting a knn for a off road vehicle caus they suck to much dirt . so give me your thoughts and opinions. I especially want to here from you if you have a s bend scilencer.

oynot400
12-12-2001, 07:05 PM
Jets are easly to change, just take the carb off and remove the bowl. Get your self a shop manual, it will pay for itself by not taking your bike to the shop for one visit. I am not sure what size to go to, you will have to read your plug.
As far as the K&N, that is what I run and have not had a problem. However some people will argue K&N vs UNI. In my opinion both are good filters. I have a UNI in my Big Red and the K&N in my 440. Just clean it on a regular basis and more often in dusty conditions. Do this and you will be fine no matter which filter you choose.

12-12-2001, 08:51 PM
easier way to change jets just take the plug out of the bottom of the bowl and a socket i think it's a 8mm will fit in and loosen the jet and you won't have to take off the carb and it only takes about 5 min to change

Wheelie
12-13-2001, 10:14 AM
If you keep the K&N filter well oiled and clean with an outerwear, you will not have any problems in dusty conditions.

K&N filter w/airbox mods and S-Bend silencer---40pj and a 155mj.

without airbox mods--150mj

To change your jets, remove the carb and the float bowl. The main jet takes a 6mm socket, the pilot takes a flat head screwdriver. The new 40pj will be a bit longer than the stock 38pj---this is normal.

Good Luck!!

400exJOE
12-13-2001, 01:15 PM