PDA

View Full Version : Oil question

mad4106
02-07-2013, 05:51 PM
Im a newbie to the 450 I been owning a 400ex for the longest but I don't know how to change the oil on my 07 450r I just had it for a couple of days now. I see a glass see through hole for the oil I bought rotella 15w 40 to change what goes on the oil spot on the other right spot can I use rotella 15w 40 as well also for that oil spot or no?

CJM
02-07-2013, 06:00 PM
Theres an engine drain bolt on the bottom of the engine, drain it and kick the engine over with the killswitch off. Refill about 3/4 of a quart

Trans plug is above the shifter. Refill is 3/4 quart.

mad4106
02-07-2013, 07:08 PM
Mine is electric start so I would have to remove the ignition thing on the spark plug I'm assuming to turn it over is the drain screw a silver bolt or black one I just looked?

yfm250rider
02-07-2013, 08:13 PM
there is a drain plug under the engine sprocket and one under the block and theres two black plastic caps that unscrew i ran blu ray 10 40 for the motor and gear savior for the trans: note trans fluid is on the right side of the motor and motor oil on the side with the small glass window

desratt
02-07-2013, 08:21 PM
If you turn it over with no oil do it again before you start it. This will reprime the oil pump. With a kicker it is always good pracktice to kick slow a few times before firing.

mad4106
02-07-2013, 08:28 PM
Where can u buy gear savior and do they have other trans fluid u can buy at a local auto store or do u have to buy from a Honda dealer? And how often do u have to change your transmission fluid and how uk if u added enough cause theirs no dipstick?

yfm250rider
02-08-2013, 10:09 AM
you can buy gear savior at any local dealership i dont think they sell it at auto stores i would suggest running it because running motor oil in the trans screws with the clutch and its .72 of a quart there s measurements on the bottle and change the trans fluid at the same time as the motor oil

2001400exrida