PDA

View Full Version : 450r guru stumped

xcracer416
02-04-2013, 05:31 PM
ok guys heres a good one. 2007 450er. stock down to the tires. when i got it i knew it didnt fire, no spark at the plug. I could tell there has been an attempt in the past to fix this problem. I asked the person i bought it from if they put a stator in it. to my surprise they said yes and it didnt have much riding on it. the previous owner said he rode it one day, it was perfect. the next day or so later went out to ride and it was like this. he put a new coil on this bike also. I had to put a new battery on it.

I get this bike home an go mad scientist on it with the wiring diagram. Since thats what i do on automobiles for a living. I checked everything except the stator, i dont have a peak voltage tester adapter for my (DMM)volt meter. I have perfect continuity for all my 12v circuits, i even load tested them. now my two green wires for ground were twisted together, so i soldered and heat shrink them and grounded them at the coil bolt. they had the temp sensor circuit connected to the coil and the coil circuit connected to the temp sensor. i thought tada thats the problem, nope i was wrong.

I than thought, lets test the cdi some how since they had the temp sensor wire wrong. I grounded it to turn the fan on, only the temp light lit and no fan. I then checked the fan ground side at the connector, no ground. I looked at the wiring diagram and seen it is controlled by ground from the cdi. I went to the cdi connector and grounded the fan and it came on. that let me know the cdi wasnt working the way it should.

I came to the conclusion that the cdi was in fact bad because of the fan issue, regardless of the no spark condition. even though a bad cdi could cause both problems. I bought a cdi, still the same problem. Is there a 12v or ground that goes through the stator or voltage regulator that powers up the cdi and i am overlooking it?