PDA

View Full Version : need crf450 big bore advise

trx/lt500r
01-13-2013, 07:22 PM
I am not an expert at these crf450s,
I am rebuilding at terd of an engine that i picked up. I was assured that it was a good runner, however it was in no condition to run anywhere.
I have rebuilt the bottom end and looking into the top end now.
So need advise on a big bore kit.
Are they any good? Reliable? worth it?

1) I need a new piston and cylinder cleanup any way? Should i just buy a "Works Performance" Big bore kit for 380$ and call it a day? No dealer involded, no labor, no machineing, no
matchning piston to cylinder, etc.

2)Also need advice on compresion ratios. I run mostly xc but need the feel of performance as well. I have access to 105 octane gas for a fair price and will run this gas no mater what. Head is ported, crank in good shape.

Thanks

strick9racing
01-13-2013, 08:43 PM
I have an Athena 480 big bore that I run and I like it, I would stick with Athena over anything else but that's just my opinion. Cheap price usually means cheap parts.

trx/lt500r
01-14-2013, 04:50 PM
Thanks for the reply....

The "Works" kits use "Vertex" pistons. I have never heard anything bad about them.

Anyone have experience with these Works kits?

Or just some feedback on weather to (pay someone to bore my stock cylinder and match a piston that they are gong to mark up at dealer price) or (just go spend the money on a bigbore kit).

Not going to go with Athena as i have already dumped enough time and money on this engine's bottom end.

Just lookng for advice on a brand of kit that is reasonably priced as well as what compression ratio piston to go with.

Thanks

2-330s
01-15-2013, 06:57 AM