PDA

View Full Version : BDT 363 Sphynx Build

Burns310r
08-10-2012, 06:06 AM
Okay fellas.

I have been riding my new DS 450XMX for the past 2 months in the Iowa D22 MX series due to some issues with my 250R motors. USPS thought it would be a good idea to drop my $2000 insured 2 day mail box containing a 310cc PROX, a ESR 330 PV (BRAND NEW) cylinder and my race BDT 350 ProX. The drop bent the sleeve's of both my BDT 350 and my ESR 330PV (so they where effectively junk). Nothing was wrong with either cylinder i may add when i sent them. Carlos was taking my 330 on trade for other stuff and my 350 was going under the knife for some more aggressive porting. Long Long story short, USPS paid me the Insured value......WOOOT

So now what to do.. Well after working directly with Carlos at BDT to get my 350 ProX dialed in for so long I naturally went back and asked for his help again. And he made a suggestion to me that I hadn't previously considered..... A stroker Sphynx motor.... Naturally I was giddy as a school girl hearing this as i know the Sphynx motors make more HP/Tq vs other cylinders.

So we ironed out what I wanted and after a short week and half, A box showed up on my door containing my brand new Sphynx.

This motor will complete 4 stroker killer. A lot of people say this, but its actually harder than most will admit in the A class MX world these days. It take a lot of work to beat up on the local A class 4 strokes here in Iowa if you havent seen my vids I have posted. These boys dont play around when building 4 poke motors.

So here are the build specs for the motor.

Sphynx 78mm Nikasil BDT Pro Port job running @220 PSI Comp
+4 stroker Hot Rods Crank(brand new good style)
Vforce 3 reeds
38mm A/S carb
ESR TRX5 pipe

This setup should be good for around 66hp and 45 ft/lb tq.

This will be the start of my build thread of this engine, and i will follow up with my thoughts on performance.

Starting.......