PDA

View Full Version : Hand Blisters while racing

jpfmotors
07-22-2012, 04:21 PM
simple question, i need ideas to prevent blisters, Ive been racing xc for about 3 years and cant seam to prevent this. it happens worse in very hot wheather, hand sweat is the cause not grips, just need ideas thanks

DnB_racing
07-22-2012, 05:56 PM
work with a hammer during the weeks your hands will be like leather..

but seriously no substitute for good old fashioned hard work, to toughen up the hands and fore arms

xcracer416
07-22-2012, 05:58 PM
i just ordered some risk racing palm protectors from RMatv this morning. i have the same problem you do. i have taped my hands, but i got arm pump from it. ive also went with a glove that fit my palms good and cut the fingers out, got arm pumo from that also. if i wear an xl size glove i get blisters but 0 arm pump.

scrappy3
07-22-2012, 07:31 PM
UnderWARE gloves from PCracing solved my son's blister proplems.

jpfmotors
07-22-2012, 07:40 PM
My hands are pretty tough iam a full time machanic i use my hands all day, i dont have a problem with arm pump at all just crazy blisters i might try a different type of under glove things like was mentioned thanks for the help

levi624
07-22-2012, 07:58 PM
I race desert and blisters were a big problem for me especially when the races are 100 plus miles.The biggest thing I have learned is to relax and get rid of the the death grip. You don't need the death grip for most of a race. When I started to relax my grip I started to ride faster and no more problems with blisters. Hope this helps a little.

lowbudget36
07-23-2012, 10:25 AM
A big thing that will help that no one really thinks of is the size of your gloves. When you grab your grips, the inside of your glove should be still skin tight against your callous'. if the glove folds up right there when you grab your grips they're too big. It may uncomfortable to wear a tighter glove but it helps.