PDA

View Full Version : truck exhaust

russellsroost31
07-03-2012, 10:00 PM
hey guys i have a flowmaster exhaust on my truck and i dont really like the sound i want to do glasspack with out the cats does anyone know how to do that like what all i have to replace

muddy400EX
07-03-2012, 11:00 PM
just take it to a shop and tell them what you want, would be way easier

i dont like glasspack sound personally, you could run no muffler and leave the cat. or maybe run a dynomax bullet without the cat, they sound really good

glasspacks are just to redneck for me

russellsroost31
07-04-2012, 07:12 AM
i love that classic sound

Drfat400ex
07-04-2012, 03:28 PM
I think you'll find a straight pipe with the cat's is the best sound for the money and effort. A peice of pipe doesn't cost nothing but a few bucks and if the flowmasters ain't coroded then it should be a half hour job. My friend had a dual exhaust with flowmasters and we straight piped it, worked really good and it sounds great, just make sure you also get some exhaust sealant because there were a few hole from the chitty welder we were using and it would make a popping noise out of those.

TacicalRedneck
07-04-2012, 04:20 PM
straight pipes are the only way to go! I've heard some good combinations, my buddy had some on a 302 and it was loudest thing in the school parking lot! Next time i see him i'll get more imfo.

beastlywarrior
07-04-2012, 04:21 PM
I ran headers into a cat on my 93 and it sounded good

MX MaNiAc 06
07-05-2012, 11:44 AM
What motor is this for?

I've been looking into what to get on my 5.3 Chevy with no luck. There's a 5.0 mustang at my apartment complex that sounds amazing. My buddy said the difference between the $450 flow master I could get and what he runs is the difference between a full exhaust and a slip on for a quad. How much does that run?

crlt250r
07-05-2012, 12:26 PM