PDA

View Full Version : How to get first credit card?

SpasticR450
06-03-2012, 04:18 PM
I have no credit history. I want zero interest for a year. What card and how?

HondaRacing83
06-03-2012, 05:33 PM
a card to adam and eve would fit you well.

sangheraent
06-03-2012, 06:25 PM
good luck on that. You have no credit history which means your high risk. Unless you have a very good income at a job you have worked at for a fairly long time your probably not going to get anything less then 10%.

But I'm no expert and have seen wierder things happen.

honda400ex2003
06-03-2012, 06:41 PM
id start out looking at a citi forward card if you are still in school or a us bank card thats similar. I have both, no fees on both of them. forward has points also so thats good.

the forward is a student card so it is designed for your situation.

https://creditcards.citi.com/credit-cards/citi-forward/

if you are working now you will have a much better chance of getting it. if you arent now, id wait a bit until you start working for the summer and have a bit of work time behind you so that you can put down your income and how long you have been working at the place.

steve

chucked
06-04-2012, 05:53 AM
Your first credit card will have about 28% interest right off the bat

honda250xrider
06-04-2012, 05:59 AM
zero % interest is not going to happen.

slightlybent47
06-04-2012, 08:12 AM
The interest rate does not mater if you pay it off every month. Once you have used it and kept it paid off for a year, then call and request a lower rate. If they don’t drop the rate close it out and apply for another one with someone else. Once they see you are a good risk they will usually compete for your business. If you receive an offer at a lower rate then you have now then call the card co. and request a lower rate and explain you have been offered a lower rate with another co. and sometimes they will drop your rate to keep you with there co.