PDA

View Full Version : Oil in the airbox??

jkiserracing
05-23-2012, 08:45 AM
I noticed on my last ride that a good bit of oil came into the aibox from the vent hose that goes into it. Ive seen a little get in there before but this was much more than Ive seen normally. It was all over filter and all in airbox. Looks like my oil level is lower now (of course) than when I started riding for the day.
I keep my oil level at just under the "F" on the sight glass. That being...idle for aprox 5 min...then sit for about 3 to check the level.

Any thoughts on why this might have happened?

blacknblue#2
05-25-2012, 12:09 PM
Blow-by more than likely...The top end is wore causing compression to blow past the rings which in pattern causes pressure in your crankcase causing oil to blow out of the breather tube..sometimes just rings will fix the problem...other times it can require rings and piston and jug.

jkiserracing
05-26-2012, 08:29 AM
Well that don't sound good at all!! :eek2:

DnB_racing
05-26-2012, 08:40 AM
this is the perfect time to do a leak down test, or at the bare minimum a starting compression .. with any luck you know exactly were your starting compression was set at for comparison,

but if you have a leak down tester this will without any doubts show you what you kneed to know, if it doesnt pass a leak down, get a stethoscope and listen for were its failing

or just do a topend if its been enough time it wouldnt hurt anyways ... how many hours on this one?

jkiserracing
05-26-2012, 11:08 AM
Id say im at at least 25-30 hours on this one by now.

DnB_racing
05-27-2012, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by jkiserracing
Id say im at at least 25-30 hours on this one by now. its time for a little work then...

not a big deal if you change now before any catastrophic damage is done it could be just a piston and rings...

actually just rings,like blacknblue mentioned, if you need to save a few dollars