PDA

View Full Version : First 400ex Rebuild Questions

300exBorg
05-02-2012, 10:27 AM
I have a 2003 400ex that I want to rebuild in the upcoming months. Right now I would like to just start gathering parts and information. I would like to go with either a 416 or 426 but am not too sure of the pros n cons of each bore. I am pretty sure I would like to stay around 10.5:1 compression and not go too much more high than stock. I would also like to throw an aftermarket cam to help wake up the motor as well. I am thinking stage 2 hotcam but am open to pretty much any brand and stage. While I have the top end apart what things should I replace so I cut down the chance of having to take it apart again? I would like to cover all angles I guess you could say. I have no previous experience with working on 400ex top ends so I pretty much would like as much input on what I should replace and what brands to use. Also input on compression and if I should go with 416 or 426 would be great!

Stickman400
05-02-2012, 10:44 AM
Well you are on the right track. Compression is where you make the power, the difference between 407,416 and 426 won't make enough difference to justify it. So here is a good list to go off of.

Wiseco 86mm(407) piston kit-$130 on ebay

Hotcam Stage 2 cam-$130 on ebay

Cometic MLS top end gasket kit-$30 on ebay

GT Thunder Head studs are good insurance-$50 from GT Thunder

CRF450R timing chain (basically a HD replacement)-$30-$60 depending on where you buy, ebay or motosport

New timing chain guides are probably needed to- $80 on ebay

Also may want to check your timing chain tensioner to make sure it's still working properly. It's $60 for a new one if it's bad.

That should be everything you need for a bullet proof reliable rebuild.

300exBorg
05-02-2012, 03:18 PM