PDA

View Full Version : Foot Peg Redesign

PRODUCTDESIGNER
04-16-2012, 01:01 AM
Hello,

I'd like to ask if anyone ever considered a different peg design.
I'm a senior student at The Art Institute of Portland, Or and i'm conducting research on people that ride sport atvs. Your input would make my world go round :)

If you would be so kind to share your experience with your foot peg.
What does your foot do while riding different terrain?
What modifications have you done to your peg or would like to do?
What different look, design, features might be better than current pegs?

beastlywarrior
04-16-2012, 02:07 PM
You want something with a good base to keep your foot planted. Something wide with aggressive teeth and teeth in between really help too. I came up with a design that rode on rubber elastomers kinda like the precision handlebar mounts

PRODUCTDESIGNER
04-18-2012, 01:25 PM
Thank you for your input!
Are you related to the idea of the Houser Pro Bounce Nerf Bars with the Suspension Foot Peg?

beastlywarrior
04-18-2012, 03:49 PM
I think the houser has a pivot which im not a fan of. Id like one that just rides on rubber elastomer

Shawthy33
04-19-2012, 11:41 AM
I'd take a look at a few of the different designs for flat mountain bike pedals. Some of the technology is there to keep feet mounted on a pedal that is constantly moving i.e. pedaling.

They have adjustable screws for grip and traction that is genius and replacable.

Also, they use different concave and convex designs to mate with the curve of the balls of your feet. Obviously Dirtbike/Quad pegs are more planted under your forefoot but the design thought is there.

Sounds like a fun project. I have AC nerf bars that come with a very simple spiked peice of stainless that is the footpeg and bolts to the nerf. I have planned on designing a new peice to bolt on since the design is relatively simple. It would be a fun thing to check out.

PRODUCTDESIGNER
04-22-2012, 10:59 PM