PDA

View Full Version : Breaking in the new setup

jrok
03-16-2012, 01:32 PM
Hello everyone. I currently have my 2004 400ex in pieces for a rebuild and I plan on running the tried and true 416 11 to 1 setup with a new stage 2 hotcam with an 05 450r carb. My question is should I just re-jet the 400 stock carb for break in of my cylinder and cam or would I be ok throwing on the 450 carb with a suggested jetting set up? The reason I ask is because I have no experience with the 450 carb and would hate to mess up my break in while fighting with the jetting which, from what i've read, can be kind of a pain on the 450 carb. Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

bryan1984
03-16-2012, 02:27 PM
you can go either way. there is a thread on here on estimated jetting for different set ups with the 400 carb, not sure if there is one for the 450r carb. We just built a 440, 11:1 with stage 3 cam and i used My newly acquired 450r carb. we went a little rich off the start which some people say is good or bad on new motor. I would rather start rich on brand new motor than be to lean. just my preference here is the thread

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=445695&highlight=jetting+placement

03-16-2012, 02:32 PM
go with the stocker.if you had a pipe and filter before the build thats where you would see the most significant jetting change especially when only jumping to a 416.if youre doing build pipe filter all at once i would rejet stocker to like 165 main 42 pilot needle on third clip from the top to start.

jrok
03-16-2012, 02:59 PM
I already have a full yoshi exhaust and aluminum box with k&n so I figured I'd just richen the stock carb up a little.

03-16-2012, 03:02 PM
u got it

jrok
03-16-2012, 04:37 PM
Thanks alot man!

WoodTRD
03-16-2012, 07:30 PM