PDA

View Full Version : how strong does alcohol need to be to run a engine/ethanol

SpasticR450
03-15-2012, 02:45 AM
I have an alcohol/ethanol permit to make up to 10,000 gals a year and im a noob at it and have some strong alcohol made. Any idea on what a engine needs as to ethanol to water ratio? Because like most vodka or whiskys they are 40% alcohol 80 proof which is 40% ethanol alcohol and 60% water which does light up on fire. Does the alcohol need to be almost 100% or just able to light up for it to make an engine run? And wear does the water in it go? out the muffler? or could it drip past the rings into the bottom end mixing with the oil?:confused:

trailrider894
03-15-2012, 09:26 AM
The mix ratio is different for everything... pulling tractors require one, a drag car another... it all depends on the application. You can't just use vodka for the alchohol, it has to be ethanol designed for use in racing engines. What are you gonna use it for?

Tommy Warren
03-15-2012, 11:40 AM
Originally posted by SpasticR450
I have an alcohol/ethanol permit to make up to 10,000 gals a year and im a noob at it and have some strong alcohol made. Any idea on what a engine needs as to ethanol to water ratio? Because like most vodka or whiskys they are 40% alcohol 80 proof which is 40% ethanol alcohol and 60% water which does light up on fire. Does the alcohol need to be almost 100% or just able to light up for it to make an engine run? And wear does the water in it go? out the muffler? or could it drip past the rings into the bottom end mixing with the oil?:confused:

so they gave you a permit to make 10,000 gallons knowing you have no idea what your doing? :huh

ben300
03-15-2012, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by Tommy Warren
so they gave you a permit to make 10,000 gallons knowing you have no idea what your doing? :huh

my thoughts exactly.....