PDA

View Full Version : first sport atv! questions

400exjoker
02-29-2012, 05:04 PM
ok so after alot of saving my money and searching craigslist i bought an 04 honda 400ex, i chose the 400ex cuz my cousin has an 03 400ex and he said his is almost bullet proof and it was fast enough for me... ok long story short im a newb and have some questions!

1. right now its got stock tires on front and kenda sand geckos siz 21x11x8 i would like to know is will a 20x11x9 tire would fit on the same wheel

2.what is a good cheap tire set for sand/trail

3.how do you take the plastics off without messing up the little plastic rivit things

4. recomended jetting with high flow air filter and this pipehmf pipe (http://www.ebay.com/itm/HMF-Honda-TRX-400EX-99-08-CLOSEOUT-/320799246398?pt=Motors_ATV_Parts_Accessories&vxp=mtr&hash=item4ab120083e) at 250ft above sea level (im already going to a 42 pilot jet and plan on leaving this quad pretty much stock besides the pipe and air filter and maybe outerwears, also should i mess with the needle jet

crazya**400exer
02-29-2012, 05:48 PM
if it is an 8 inch rim than no on the tires. i havent found any way to take the rivits out without breaking them but you cn get a bag of like 20 for $5

JOHNDOE83
02-29-2012, 05:59 PM
When trying to match tires to rims, like 21-11-8, 21 is the height, 11 is the width which is universal, and 8 is the rim size.

A good cheap tire can be found here www.rockymountainatv.com

If you take the tank cover off the plastics then unbolt the rest, they should slide right off the front in one piece. Also, you could replace those plastic rivets with some nice shiney bolts and washers.

I recommend a 160 main jet, but others will say different.

Y2daT420
02-29-2012, 06:06 PM
I really like the Kenda claws there cheap and available for 8 inch rims

CJM
02-29-2012, 06:34 PM
Originally posted by Y2daT420
I really like the Kenda claws there cheap and available for 8 inch rims