PDA

View Full Version : Car Stereo Help

Pipeless416
01-29-2012, 04:52 PM
Hey guys, i know a few of you are really good with car stereos and i'm looking to upgrade a little bit, so i'm looking for some advice.

car is a 99 trans am with 5 1/4 inch alpine type s speakers in front with the stock tweeters, 4 ohm 6.5 inch kicker cvt subwoofers in the sail panel, and 4 inch polk db series speakers in the rear hatch areas with stock tweeters there too. it has a kenwood head unit and i believe it is still using the stock monsoon amp.

everything sounds great at lower volumes, and the problem comes from when i either have the exhaust cutout open, or when i have the t tops off in the warmer months. it is so underpowered that it just distorts pretty badly. i've also read that the little kicker subs are pretty power hungry in themselves.

what are my options here? i know amp/amps are the answer, but i'm pretty new to all this. mono amp for the two subs and then what about the rest of the speakers? i'm trying to do this as inexpensively as possible, because i'd rather save money for a place to live in may and stupid stuff like that :p . thanks in advance

traitor08
01-29-2012, 05:00 PM
In my Dakota I have a kicker 4 channel amp for my kids and highs, and 2 one channel amps for my subs. It gives a pretty intense back massage since its a regular cab. I have Memphis 6 1/2 and kicker 4x10's for my highs with 2 1/4 in tweeters. I am a big fan of kicker for some reason and always have something of there's in my vehicle. But you will have to bypass factory amp for aftermarket. Were the factory speakers 4ohm or 6ohm. I can't remember. But with aftermarket the puma are usually 4 or 2. But with all things, how loud do you wanna be. And do you have any sound deadener. It helps cancel unwanted noise so you can hear your radio better.
Pm me all your stuff in detail, can give you some recommendations. I am not a professional, but have doing sometype of radio install for the last 15 years