PDA

View Full Version : New to 400ex...chain help

B.Rich108
12-22-2011, 12:43 PM
Hey guys. Again, im new to this world and was wondering if there is a way to tighten the chain on my 400ex. On my old dirtbike there was a tension screw in the back next to the sprocket. Im not seeing that on the ex. Is there not one there or am i just not looking hard enough? If there s not, what would be a good chain to pick up.
Alos, when i clean my air filter, what shoud i use to clean it, then oil it with?
One more thing, how often should i change my fuel filter?
Sorry this turned into a bit of a run on but i figured wheni fix the chain problem, i should go through and change all the filters too.
Thanks a lot.
Brian

ish416
12-22-2011, 01:18 PM
There should be four bolts on the very back of the swingarm. Loosen those then on the left, by the sprocket there should be something there on the carrier that will allow you to rotate it. Going back will tighten the chain, going forward will loosen.

CJM
12-22-2011, 06:50 PM
There is no fuel filter on these things stock.

To add to ishs post, if you look at the carrier there are holes, stick an allen key or similar in them to turn. I recommend you loosen the 4 bolts to very loose to make sure it will move easy.

Thumpin440ex
12-23-2011, 08:57 AM
In all my cases even after the bolts were loose, I still had to use a punch and hammer to rotate the carrier..

John

powerbomb400
12-23-2011, 09:32 AM
If and when you have to take the carrier out put anti-seize on it before you reinstall and you won't have that problem.

Stickman400
12-23-2011, 09:43 PM