PDA

View Full Version : 50cc atv or dirt bike

Aarons 01 400EX
12-12-2011, 12:10 PM
I've been looking at getting my son(3yrold) an atv or dirtbike(w/training wheels) of his own in the next year or so. He has riden the battery operated ride on toys at some of our friends houses, but I can't see spending $200 for some plastic pos that will break in a year and has to be recharged every 30 minutes. I started riding a Honda 70 mini trail bike at 5yrs old without any training wheels.

Who makes 50cc atvs?
Is yamaha the only brand that makes 50cc dirtbike(pw50)?

I have seen some other atvs that are 50cc but I have never heard of the brand before.

Suggestions?

I have a thread in the O-T section too.

jake55
12-12-2011, 12:44 PM
welcome to mini quad hell. lol the guys on here will lead you the right direction, just be real clear in what you want for your son other wise these guys on here will have your boy riding a wheelie popping demon of a quad.
good luck and have fun!!

LT80
12-12-2011, 01:00 PM
Suzuki JR50 and the PW50 are good choices for bikes.
The Suzuki LT50/LTZ50 may be a good atv option.

IMO, fitment of the child to the machine is what's important here.
If he cannot fit on the machine, work (and understand) the controls, the battery machine is the way to go.

You'll get many answers in here but I think all will agree that $200 +/- is a drop in the bucket of youth riding. :)
We had to buy a extra battery so that one was on charge. :D

It's not a waste if the child has fun as opposed to being scared on a too big of machine.

OOOOPs gave you 3 cents worth. :eek2:

Good luck on your decision. :)

jake55
12-12-2011, 01:13 PM
i waited till my boy could ride and peddal a bike without the training wheels before i put him on the ttr50. i'm not real crazy about the trianing wheel thing. i agree with lt80, make sure the bike and or quad fits the little man. the polaris 50 we started with had removable risers on the foot boards, that alone helped alot.