View Full Version : 50cc atv or dirt bike

Aarons 01 400EX
12-12-2011, 08:43 AM
I've been looking at getting my son(3yrold) an atv or dirtbike(w/training wheels) of his own in the next year or so. He has riden the battery operated ride on toys at some of our friends houses, but I can't see spending $200 for some plastic pos that will break in a year and has to be recharged every 30 minutes. I started riding a Honda 70 mini trail bike at 5yrs old with any training wheels.

Who makes 50cc atvs?
Is yamaha the only brand that makes 50cc dirtbike(pw50)?

I have seen some other atvs that are 50cc but I have never heard of the brand before.

Suggestions?

quad2xtreme
12-12-2011, 08:55 AM
My opinion is to put him on a dirt bike from the start. Quads just end up costing too much. Even Dan Harris (owner of Breezewood Proving Grounds) has his daughter on a bike now when she used to ride ATVs.

jake55
12-12-2011, 08:58 AM
yamaha makes 2. they have the 2 stroke pw50 and a four stroke ttr50. the ttr is a three speed automatic and is great for starters. i let my boy ride it for about a year before i told him about shifting. i would put it in first and let him go. honda also has a four stroke, crf50. the yamaha ttr has electric start and the honda and yamaha pw is kick start only. KTM also has 50cc stuff however they are not for first time riders.
quads, if your looking for a good yard or hayfield quad the polairs outlaw 50 will run forever. if you think someday you want to go racing then DRR is the way to go. you can make these things tame as heck or crazy fast without alot of money. the DRR is a two stroke and the polairis is a four stroke. both come with electric start and kicker as a back up.

you also should post this question in the MINNI section. lots of help over there on these 90cc and smaller quads.

01boneless
12-12-2011, 09:30 AM