PDA

View Full Version : Lots of Questions

Rohr397
12-01-2011, 10:07 AM
Okay so I am still pretty new to 400ex's as far as working on them goes (I say this because we had a 400ex for about 3 years before I got mine but it was 100% stock for my mom). I have a lot of questions so here it goes.

1. I am trying to find a good basic graphics kit for my quad that I can have printed with sponsor logos. Something like Fusion Graphix but for a quad. Anyone know where I could find that?

2. I've noticed as the temperature has dropped it's become hard to start my quad. I know that sounds dumb because it's pretty obvious the colder it is the harder it is to start but I'm noticing that my quad won't idle and backfires when I am trying to get it started. I also just added a new exhaust and have a little popping on decel. I'm assuming it's a jetting issue but I am terrible with jetting so what should I try? Plugs don't seem to read abnormal :confused:

3. So I've decided to go with Sparks Key and a Stage 1 cam for some extra power, might as well if I'm going to race with the 450's on a tight budget. What cam's are good? I know that Hot Cam's are good but I was thinking about looking into some of the smaller companies that build parts for dune quads, like Trinity Racing.

4. Finally I hear a lot about people adding cooling fans to their 400's. I already have a Mickey Dunlap oil cooler, but I run in triple digit temperatures sometimes during the summer (Eastern WA) and I've overheated a Trx450r out there without even running it hard. I was wondering where I could pick one of these up? I know people probably don't think I need it but I would still rather be safe then sorry.

DragonGunner
12-01-2011, 11:30 AM
1. Try goforitgraphics.com

2. Go up to a 42 pilot jet for easier starting, go up on the main jet because your running lean. If you have stock main jet,(148) jump up to a 165 an try that.

3. Hotcams are good to go. Suggest a higher compression piston also.

4. ?