PDA

View Full Version : How to get a 12 yr old to shoot a gun?

jesseweaver
11-17-2011, 03:34 PM
alright i've tried everything and my little brother (who's 12) can't shoot a gun. It's a .270 and i've been shooting it for at least 10 years (im 19 now). he loves shooting claybirds with a 12 guage and target shooting with the .22 but he just cant pull the trigger on a .270. He's dry fired it before fine but as soon as there's a bullet in he just can't bring himself to pull the trigger.

idk what else to try, tonight i watched him multiple times stare through the scope for 5 minutes. he says he really wants to shoot it and he always wants to try but he never can then he gets upset.

and hes not small either hes really tall and built for his age, he can rip 3rd gear wheelies on a 450 dirtbike all day

fastredrider44
11-17-2011, 03:43 PM
I don't know that you can do anything. It might just have to come with time. Once he does it once, It will be no problem. Just like building up the courage to hit a big double. Its nerve racking at first, but after you do it once, you can do it all day. Eventually he will fire it, then there won't be an issue anymore.

jesseweaver
11-17-2011, 03:46 PM
yea i tell him that and he even knows that. it was the same way with a shotgun. he was so scared at first and did it once now hes wanting to shoot it everyday, he loves it

wolfe 21
11-17-2011, 04:01 PM
This will sound insensitive, and I apologize in advance, but from your description it sounds like something about the gun has scared him off. My best solution is to not let him know its loaded. Take him to a range and let him practice dry firing it like hes workig on breathing or sight alignment or whatever. When he feels comfortable give him a loaded round, just don't let him know. Something low power/low recoil to start would be good. It shouldn't be any different in his mind than dry firing the rifle.

Ichoptop
11-17-2011, 04:01 PM