PDA

View Full Version : what cylinder would you run for tt racing?

tj808
11-06-2011, 05:43 PM
Hey guys!
I recentely bought a 86 trx250r. Besides owning a 83 250r back in the day.... this is my first time owning the legend!!! I have 20+ years with other bikes.
This 86 is really nice. The previous owner just put a ton of cash into new parts. The bike has a brand new mx ported oem 66mm cylinder, hot rods hd crank, lrd adjustable pipe, vforce 3 reeds, 38mm keihn, hinson basket and etc. The suspension and chassis are also mostly aftermarket too.
I planned on lowering it and adding a swaybar. But thought the stock cylinder will not compete with the build banshees and 450 4-strokers. I want to keep the stock stroke because the motor only has about 5 hours on it. I want to just replace the cylinder and head basically.
I only weight 145lbs and this bike will be built for tt/oval racing only. I was thinking of going with the ESR 330 cylinder with the exhaust valve.
My questions are:
1)What cylinder would you use?
2)Do the ESR cylinders come hand ported--or just rough casted ports?
3) What company(with a dyno) does good port work specifically for tt racing?
4) What is a good pipe for tt racing.
5) on a 1986...should i run a -2 or -3 swinger?
thanks for any help!!

mx Eli
11-06-2011, 05:51 PM
I'v seen pc200 cylinders work good, I couple people I know had ftz porting hualed the mail pretty good

a -3 will prolly be better for your weight, i'v always had to go shorter then normal (I weigh same as you)

400exrip
11-06-2011, 05:57 PM
Neil at C-Leigh Racing can get you the perfect porting\motor setup for TT racing on a TRX250R.

ESR's are good cylinders I have heard the port work from them is not to good, but have not seen it with my own eyes yet.

Curtis Sparks youst to build some mean TT motors for the 250R like the one that was in Shane Hitts old bikes when he was riding for Sparks. But I dont think Curtis makes ANYTHING for the ol 250R anymore.