PDA

View Full Version : big bore pipe on 310/295

bigmatt61
11-05-2011, 12:47 PM
Does anyone have any experience with running a big bore pipe on a 295/310 cylinder?
If so, what carb, reed, porting and airfilter setup did you use?
Any of the engine guru's have an opinion on this?

Matt

matt250r21
11-05-2011, 01:22 PM
From what I have read from acecarlos, a big bore pipe kills top end on any engine smaller then 370cc. I have no first hand experience on this, all my Rs are 265s.

bigmatt61
11-05-2011, 03:57 PM
That seems to be contradictory as to why Curtis and Arlen made BB pipes, doesn't it?
Surely there has to be a performance gain on motors under 370. IE; 330 and up.
I'm just wondering if they would work on a "310" as well. Would there be a performance gain or would it be detrimental.

Matt

matt250r21
11-05-2011, 04:17 PM
Yeah, I know Sparks and LRD made 330 BB pipes, but ESR dosn't and they seem to be into 310s and up. Seems to be two schools of thought on this.

265 sleeper
11-05-2011, 10:30 PM
Depends on port timing . Sometimes reg pipes work better than BB pipes.

Gresham250R
11-05-2011, 11:22 PM
I'd say get on Facebook and look up LED Performance and just ask Arlen! Just a simple thought...

mx91a
11-06-2011, 12:23 PM
It might work OK if you are looking for great low end power and throttle response but the larger diameter stinger will reduce your EGTs and hurt top end power.

I have a Sparks MX pipe with 1.25" OD stinger for sale if you are interested in trying it out...

wes350x
11-06-2011, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by mx91a
It might work OK if you are looking for great low end power and throttle response but the larger diameter stinger will reduce your EGTs and hurt top end power.

I have a Sparks MX pipe with 1.25" OD stinger for sale if you are interested in trying it out...