PDA

View Full Version : cv-4 hoses

trx400Rider
10-31-2011, 09:22 PM
Hey guys I picked up a set of cv-4 hoses for the 450 today and a gallon of liquid performance coolant. The dealer said to make sure ever little bit of antifreeze is out before I go putting in any LP's coolant. He said to just use water to flush my system out.

Has anyone ever used liquid performance coolant before?
And is a gallon of coolant enough to change the system?
Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Pacheco_450r
11-01-2011, 06:53 PM
That's what I've been using for the past 4 years and I've never had any problems with it. One jug will be plenty!

trx400Rider
11-01-2011, 09:41 PM
awesome man! and how did you change it from stock coolant to the lp's without mixing them?

Pacheco_450r
11-01-2011, 11:12 PM
I drained what I could and then flushed it with a gallon jug of distilled water from the grocery store. That'll get most of it out.

trx400Rider
11-03-2011, 09:20 PM
Alright! Im just a little nervous about doing this. I dont want it to gum up inside the system that would be very bad!
Do you think I should run it for a minute with distilled water or just keep filling it up and then draining it out?
Im confused lol!
And for the bottom hose, I notice the stock ones have a heat sheild on them, basically another small piece of rad hose over the actual hose. should I put that small piece on the CV-4 hose to prevent it from melting?

Pacheco_450r
11-03-2011, 10:30 PM
Originally posted by trx400Rider
Alright! Im just a little nervous about doing this. I dont want it to gum up inside the system that would be very bad!
Do you think I should run it for a minute with distilled water or just keep filling it up and then draining it out?
Im confused lol!
And for the bottom hose, I notice the stock ones have a heat sheild on them, basically another small piece of rad hose over the actual hose. should I put that small piece on the CV-4 hose to prevent it from melting?