View Full Version : Fan Wiring

Trey27
09-30-2011, 01:33 PM
I recently bought a race ready 2006 TRX 450r kickstart and I bought a fan to keep the engine cool since it didn't come with one. Well I went to wire it up and I looked under the hood and the guy had cut just about every wire that wasn't needed for the bike to run and im having trouble finding a hot wire. I have a tester but all the wires that ive tested dont seem to have enough power to run the fan. Does anyone know of the wire's that come out of the crank and which one I could tie the fan into to have it run constantly when the bike is running? I'm not too good at reading wire harness diagrams so the color of the wire and if it's big are small will be about the only thing I can find. Also I called a dealership and ive already tried running the fan back into its original green wire but it didn't work he must of cut it somewhere up the harness.

Trey27
09-30-2011, 01:37 PM
This is what it looks like under the hood

AtvKid4Eva
09-30-2011, 01:59 PM
man the previous owner sucks at wiring haha..thats a mess.

Trey27
09-30-2011, 02:01 PM
I know man trying to find a hot wire on this quad is like trying to find a needle in a hay stack it's about impossible Im thinking I need a whole new harness

Trey27
10-01-2011, 01:26 PM
Any one?

DnB_racing
10-01-2011, 03:42 PM
you need to find a black wire from the harness,if the key switch is installed still

this is the regulated circuit,all the black wires in the harness are common to this black wire, and put a toggle in line, and the other side goes to green, if the key is removed you need to jump the red to black to use the black circuit,

is the condenser still installed?

you might have to just use the red, it all depends on what was removed,

you dont need a new harness, just a little modification .. look at it in a positive way, when done fixing you will be good at reading a schematic.LOL

has the temp sending unit been removed?