PDA

View Full Version : life expectancy

jackrb100
09-13-2011, 12:32 PM
My race bike gets about 35 hours a season. Should I get 2 seasons out off a set off valves running with mild web cam and web cam spring kit also +1 exhausts. Normaly use leaded fuel although some times unleaded. Only had to adjust the valves twice this year setup was brand new at start off year.

2001400exrida
09-14-2011, 08:07 AM
you can easily get 2 seasons out of it. I've been riding my 05 for 3 years now with a cam and pipe and k&n air filter.

unless you're trying to keep optimum power for the races....the motor will run a long time with that setup.

most racers just like to get a fresh piston in there eveyr season so that they are getting max power.

chronicsmoke
09-14-2011, 08:12 AM
I would freshen the top end every year.

That's what I've been doing and my bike runs like a champ. I can tell it's tired at the end of a season though. I personally wouldn't try and push 2 years, but thats just me. On a trail quad, for sure 2 years or more, a "Race" bike every off season.

Buy your piston, gasket ect now so when you get it rebuilt it wont be as big of a hit on your wallet all one shot.

What piston are you running now?

Kovatch
09-14-2011, 09:48 AM
I normally go 60-65 hours on top end rebuilds unless something catastrophic happens. You should be able to get two years given the mild cam and the fact you are maintaining proper clearances.

When you are in the head, you would be able to tell if something is going wrong or went wrong.

chronicsmoke
09-14-2011, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by Kovatch
I normally go 60-65 hours on top end rebuilds unless something catastrophic happens. You should be able to get two years given the mild cam and the fact you are maintaining proper clearances.

When you are in the head, you would be able to tell if something is going wrong or went wrong.

I do agree that I could make it 60+ hours on the piston, but my theory is; check the valves/change the piston.