PDA

View Full Version : New to Hybrids, where do I begin?

Rohr397
09-09-2011, 01:52 PM
Alright so don't ask how but I ended up with this 1987 J-Arm Banshee and I'm a motocross rider, obviously the two don't go together. I'm looking to build a hybrid , I have no idea how, I've never done it before and I have no experience welding or anything of the sort. I don't know if I need to trade this Banshee for something to start with or if I can use my Banshee. Nobody seems interested in trading their 450's or 250r's so I can't get a hold of one of those at this moment. I don't want to wait around either for something to come up, I've been waiting two months and it's just the same bikes over and over. If anyone can help me in any way with where I can start and what I need to know or do please let me know, I'm a 16 year old on a tight budget so I can't spend $5000 on a Laeger frame, it's gotta be practical for me to build. I know motors and all that stuff well but I've never started from scratch. Thanks, below is my Banshee, if for any reason you might be interested in buying it and live in Washington/Oregon/Idaho it's for sale for $2500.

brian250racer
09-09-2011, 02:20 PM
What are you looking to do? MX?What motor would you be puttting in there?

Rohr397
09-09-2011, 02:32 PM
MX and one WORCS race a year. I'm thinking Kx250f/Yz250f or Crf450/250 motor, basically any of the dirtbike 4 stroke engines.

beastlywarrior
09-09-2011, 06:49 PM
j arms are a bad frame for mx, youll go through bushings like crazy. hell if your planning a hybrid see if someone will trade for a warrior plus cash on there end. youll be starting out with the same basic thing but the warrior would have a better frame than the jarm. you could do +3 arms and shocks and with one of those motors youll have a decently light and good handling quad. or maybe even try to trade for a 400ex

Rohr397
09-09-2011, 10:13 PM