PDA

View Full Version : ughhhhh bolts!!!

01boneless
08-12-2011, 07:39 PM
ok guys im tired of pricking with oil leaks so this week im gonna pull off the valve cover and easy out all the broke bolts. now for the holes whats my best option helicoils,retapping or what and how do i do it. im new with striped out bolts because a moron over tighting them 10lbs of torq. so what bolt do i need like what size i know there all diffrent lenghs. thanks guys

CJM
08-12-2011, 08:36 PM
Honestly your gonna find it aint gonna work to well at all. I been there with a friends 400, we found helicoils-problem is helicoils pull out of the soft aluminum the topends made of. So I tapped for a larger size, was ok till we realized the spec for 33 ft-lbs is for the head bolts-not the rocker cover bolts.

But really there aint no way you stripped or busted them at 10 ft-lbs unless your torque wrench is way outta wack.

Heres what I would do:
1. Go to a store and find some 7mm bolts, home cheapo or lowes should have them.
2. Find a metric tap for said bolts, maybe lowes/home cheapo or you might have to hunt for it.
3. Tap the holes
4. Install the bolts. Issue is its kinda hard to tap some of them b/c they go ALL the way into the cylinder metal and that means you also gotta remove your head to do this properly.

My friend found out the hard way, we gave up and got a new head and cylinder.

01boneless
08-12-2011, 08:51 PM
well crap i guess ill just go to the hard ware and get a stander thred bolt (fater threads) and sock it in there and worry about those bolts when its time to rebuil or i may sell it next summer but thats a diffrent story lol

CJM
08-12-2011, 08:58 PM
Aint gonna hold if you do that.

Try the tap method, it can work you just gotta take your time and you gotta remove the head.

01boneless
08-12-2011, 09:22 PM
how hard is the head to remove im new to motors and im suprised im even going under the valve cover lol

CJM
08-12-2011, 09:33 PM