PDA

View Full Version : what motor should i run for mx. 250 or ??

florentino
08-06-2011, 05:25 PM
hi guys i am new to the 250r world. i need help. i have a lots of 450s but i just whant to race this one at the mx races.

i do whant to keep the 2 stroke motor.

how much money will a fast motor cost and who makes them.

i live in california so who should i call?

heres a pic. not sure if i should dump a ton of money or sell it.

is this bike worth it. it has some goods like the exaust, old school works shocks, 50 inches wide. the exaust is paul tuner.

i race a ds 450 mx model. can this things keep up with the new races bikes. or should i just let it go.

sand_blaster
08-06-2011, 05:50 PM
ESR is in your state. I think a 330-350 powervalved bigbore will keep up or beat most 450's on the track.

wild250rman
08-06-2011, 08:10 PM
#1 get the suspension set up for you. then learn how to ride the 2 stroke it is a different creature than a 450 and see if you really like it before you invest a bunch of money into it. the paul turner exhaust is good and works well with some other tuners porting or just stick with paul turner porting and duncan racing's other products. do a leak down test a compression test and get it tuned good and you will be surprised what it will do.

Honda 250r 001
08-06-2011, 08:42 PM
Thats a pretty slick looking ol 250!

Yea its worth it to put some money into it, you do need to get use to it before you decide if you like the feel of a 250r or not.

If your looking to throw those 450's around like chew toys id go for a 350! But you should still be able to hang with most 450's with a 310 or even a stock ported cylinder on race fuel.

Suspension is key for motocross, suspension, THEN motor...

What class do you race in?

BTW: More pics man! :D

RyanWsly
08-06-2011, 10:18 PM