PDA

View Full Version : stator or what?

tmatthews4
08-02-2011, 02:44 PM
the bike will start and idle fine but when you get to about 3/4 throttle it starts cutting out,poping,backfireing and just runs like crap, I have replaced the plug,coil,cleaned the carb and checked the reeds and all seems fine, when i removed the stator cover though it had water and mud in it and the flywheel looked like crap. I dont have a puller at the moment but when i cleaned everything up and put it back together it ran fine for a little while and then did it again,since i changed and cleaned all this at the same time im not sure where the problem is,i dont have a tester to check the stator,hope any of this makes since,im new to the R so any help would be appreciated.

HondaPohl
08-02-2011, 05:11 PM
I would pull the wheels and check for rust or corroison. If it had mud and water in, it could be screwin up contact.

89trx250r
08-02-2011, 08:42 PM
what about jetting when i hear it starts cutting out popping and backfiring it sounds leand especially cause everything is fine untill 3/4 throttle i could be way wrong.... but have you tried changing jets or maybe the air fuel screw or the clip on the needle?

tmatthews4
08-02-2011, 09:44 PM
Originally posted by 89trx250r