PDA

View Full Version : honda accord cv boot ripped :(

backwoodsracer
08-01-2011, 02:36 PM
okay my front right cv boot ripped. and ive been driving it :0 i need to know how much it should cost to have this replaced or is it safe to do it my self, im no mechanic but im pretty good with a wrench.

CJM
08-01-2011, 02:55 PM
If you never replaced one yourself and dont have the proper tools dont do it.

Approx 300-400 bucks to fix, depends on the year and the shop tho. The axle itself is about 100-200 bucks.

HondaPohl
08-01-2011, 03:12 PM
Pump some grease in it and wrap it with duct tape till you can have it done.

backwoodsracer
08-01-2011, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by CJM
If you never replaced one yourself and dont have the proper tools dont do it.

Approx 300-400 bucks to fix, depends on the year and the shop tho. The axle itself is about 100-200 bucks. i just need the boot replaced nothing else is damaged yet :/

CJM
08-01-2011, 04:07 PM
If you can find someone to just boot a boot on, 300 bucks. Most dont put boots on, you get a whole reman or new axle.

To put the boots on takes even longer than changing an entire axle. Remove axle, remove old-put on new bootsl ,load with grease, takes 2-3 hours a side approx on most cars.

VS maybe 2 hours for an entire new/reman cv axle.

backwoodsracer
08-01-2011, 04:18 PM
Originally posted by CJM
If you can find someone to just boot a boot on, 100 bucks. Most dont put boots on, you get a whole reman axle. :( oh boy

CJM
08-01-2011, 04:19 PM
Exactly. I edited the other post to explain why.

I mean maybe, 100 bucks and someones nice. But I doubt it. This isnt exactly a simple job, most cars its a good bit of work.

If the boots not to bad pump it full of grease, then clean it off REALLY good with some brake cleen. Apply some black RTV silicone to it-hope it holds.

backwoodsracer
08-01-2011, 04:47 PM
Originally posted by CJM
Exactly. I edited the other post to explain why.