PDA

View Full Version : rookie attemping rebuild 07 450R - help

sunco
07-26-2011, 02:15 PM
I was told my crank is going. I want to try to rebuild it on my own. What tools would I need being I'm a rookie? I have the Honda shop book. Its my fourth motor gone south since 04' so I think I'm ready to give it a shot. Its an 07 450ER.

Scro
07-26-2011, 02:32 PM
I think the only special tool you really need is a flywheel puller. It may also be easier if you buy a socket to fit the spanner nut on the counter balancer. It can be taken off with a hammer and flat head screwdriver, but it's best to get the right tool. I would invest in a service manual as well. It tells you exactly how to do everything, from start to finish.

HondaPohl
07-26-2011, 04:17 PM
Good luck buddy. I remember my first rebuild was 87 tecate 4 topend and tranny when I was 14. Blew it up in one day cuz I didnt listen to my dad. Just take your time.

Scro
07-26-2011, 04:36 PM
Good thing is you have simplicity on your side with that motor. It's really not as bad as you think.

sunco
07-26-2011, 05:14 PM
Thanx, yeah I got the service manuel. I'll get the tools. I got 2nd place in a night race on July 4th weekend the sunday while practicing I wrecked and hurt my knee, I was just told the MRI results today that I fractured my knee. Looks like I can take my time :rolleyes: I'll keep in touch, its been a rough year - two riders with two broken 450's, the kids is the trans...............
I don't want to leave the sport and if I did all my **** is broken, the toyhauler and others stuff is all over overhead :mad:

In God we Trust, All others pay cash :devil:

450R NOOB
09-22-2011, 09:51 PM