PDA

View Full Version : Camera for the Lady (PAPPY!)

YFZ-FoFiddy-TC
06-28-2011, 03:03 PM
So the lady wants a new camera for her birthday next month so I'm looking for something $500 or less. She wants one of the fancy camera's so I figured I'd try and get some suggestions because I don't even know where to start. Advice, suggestions please?

Pappy
06-28-2011, 09:41 PM
Look at the Canon G12 or for a smaller camera with the same guts and $100 less, the Canon S95

Ntensweapon
06-28-2011, 11:04 PM
If you can spend a little more..look at the nikon d3100.

Pappy
06-28-2011, 11:09 PM
The G12 will run circles around the D3100 and the D5000.

Ntensweapon
06-28-2011, 11:13 PM
Well now I feel ripped off...lol. In what aspects pap.

Pappy
06-28-2011, 11:18 PM
Just in overall quality....neither will do well with moving objects, the 3100 and 5000 are poor excuses for dslrs and im a Pro Nikon shooter LOL so for me to throw them under the bus says alot.

The G12 offers everything the low end nikons offer (except changeable lenses), better image quality, more features and better video.

Nikons newest is the D7000, best value going for a dslr under $1300 but still will be sub par for action especially in low light, but is a great camera....nikon learned its lesson i hope!

I honestly havent met anyone who shoots the low end nikons that are happy, especially when you show them the poor image quality. Canons rebel line crushes them.

Ntensweapon
06-28-2011, 11:31 PM
I should've talked to you before I purchased. I purposely went to a pro shop to buy and get advice. They sold both nikon and canon. I'll admit I did more research on Nikon... but did inquire about the canon lineup.... guess the guy that sold me the setup was a nikon guy.

I like the changeable lenses...that would be a big trade off. You are spot on..I do have trouble in low light action.

Overall I'm pretty happy with my nikon rig...still learning.

Pappy
06-28-2011, 11:36 PM