PDA

View Full Version : Jetting 101 guide

EthansDad
06-08-2011, 08:47 PM
Hey All,

Been researching Jetting for about the last year now and wanted to share some ideas learned about jetting. The biggest lesson I've learned is its hard, and I'm no expert. also, there is no easy way to Jet besides understanding what is going on in that carb, what are your tuning goals, and how to test such that you get repeatable results. This guide is just a reference for all of that. hope it helps you jet better, or at least answer some questions about what's going on in that carb!

Theory of Jetting:
the main job of a carb is to mix air and fuel into a optimal ratio and feed it to the motor. simple, eh? fuel is metered into the motor by a series of jets with different size openings. higher numbers being a bigger opening will deliver more fuel. you can say the throttle position is only a suggestion of how much fuel is to be delivered to the motor, the job is ultimately carried out by the jet size.

the science going on is called stoichiometry (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stoichiometry). can read up on it in the link, but the short version is for any fuel and oxygen mix, there is one and only one optimum ratio which produces the maximum "boom". what that means is your motor only makes max power when your jetting is spot on delivering 14 parts oxygen to 1 part fuel, or 14:1. if I deliver less oxygen per unit of fuel, I am rich since the mixture now has more fuel per volume that before. the opposite is also true, if I have too much oxygen per volume, I am lean.

The fuel delivery is fairly straight forward and something that you as a tuner can control. its important to know that fuel is also a cooling agent to the motor. that is why if you run too lean, you burn your motor. the air is a different story. its oxygen that mixes with the gas to create the 'bang" needed for combustion. The problem is per any given volume of "air", you really don't know how much oxygen you are getting.