PDA

View Full Version : Check out this 4 corner seize...

latheboy
06-07-2011, 05:55 PM
Here is what happened to my 350pv running on a big clay oval. 15/36 gearing running 4th and 5th gear. I am sure I needed more main jet. It was being ridden hard, always in the powerband. Lots of heat, temps at 200 coming off the track. 3 laps into it, it squeaked. I am running a 38 A/S with a 50 pilot and a 180 main. The plug color looked good. I should have ran a 195 main or a little less if it would have pulled it. What do you think the top of the piston looks like? lean?

http://i460.photobucket.com/albums/qq330/latheboy/IMG_7772.jpg
http://i460.photobucket.com/albums/qq330/latheboy/IMG_7770.jpg
http://i460.photobucket.com/albums/qq330/latheboy/IMG_7768.jpg
http://i460.photobucket.com/albums/qq330/latheboy/IMG_7773.jpg

DnB_racing
06-07-2011, 06:58 PM
im far from an expert but to me from the position of the scouring are you sure it wasn't an overheating issue instead of a jetting? are you getting good flow of coolant to all of the coolant ports?

latheboy
06-07-2011, 08:14 PM
I guess it could be an overheat issue. I have a new waterpump that has good flow. I am also running a pro series oversize radiator. I have had overheat issues on previous builds of this cylinder, but that was a bad airleak at the base gasket. This build pressure tested good before I tore it down and saw this. But the day it seized, it probaly ran 200-220 on the ESR temp gage. It was also 85F and humid that day.

DnB_racing
06-07-2011, 09:34 PM
I just think its more then your jetting .... your rings arnt even burnt. just looks like something either warped or worn, It just doesnt look like a jetting burn

I would look at everything real good before putting back together, all bearings and rod and make sure the cylinder isn't out of round,

but like I said im far from an expert, but something just doesn't look a lean issue to me