PDA

View Full Version : Who has raced bikes?

sylvan56473
02-19-2003, 03:16 PM
I've been racing fourwheelers for almost 10 years now and had never ridden a dirtbike until 2 years ago. I always said to myself, it can't be that hard to ride a bike. Well, I finally decided to buy a YZ125. Didn't even test ride it, just loaded it into the truck and away I went. I figured just jump on, gas it and go right? I fouled four plugs my first time riding becuase I was going so slow and almost wore the soles off of my boots. It definetely isn't as easy as it looks. I finally got the hang of it after a couple weeks and bikes are a blast! The suspension is awesome. And the coolest part is that you can throw away a bike really easily instead of on a quad you have to ride it out. I also tried to race it and that is tuff to switch between motos from a 250R to a YZ. I have alot of respect for guys that ride dirtbikes.

YamaWarr0121
02-19-2003, 03:19 PM
very true my friends make it look easy..i jumped on his yz125 and decided to nice n easy until i hit the powerband and almost killed myself..i stay clear of dirtbikes now:grr

flyin#5
02-19-2003, 03:21 PM
cool. ive only riden bikes several times and there fun but ill keep riding quads. so are you racing the bike in d23 this summer? or how about your R? if so we go to a couple of em a year and maybe we'll se ya there sometime

sylvan56473
02-19-2003, 03:22 PM
Oh yeah,

Bikes are a little scary at first. That's why I didn't test drive mine. I don't think I would have bought it. I would have said that there is no way I am ever going to learn to ride this. Landing from a jump is like trying to walk a tightrope with an elephant on your shoulders.

Nausty
02-19-2003, 03:27 PM