PDA

View Full Version : I need help picking a sport atv

jared crews
04-22-2011, 10:12 PM
Hey guys I'm new to this form and got on here to get yalls opinion, I'm 18 5'10" 170 pounds if that makes a difference and have been riding fourwheelers all my life well since I was 5. But all I have owned is a utility, even though I ride my cuzins sport quad a bit. I have alot of time on utility atv and a little on sports but I am wanting to buy me one so I can give his back to him lol. We ride in some pretty rough spots in the woods and in some rutted out spots to so I'm pretty sure ground clearance is a good thing. We only do woods riding most of it technical and thick woods no racing and I want something to cut up on a little but Nothing that will kill me. So wondering if yall can help me out plus our average ride is around 23 miles so I need somethig to last that long! Any help at all is greatly appreciated because I don't know much about the sport quads because I don't check on them like I do the utilities

exrider12
04-22-2011, 10:30 PM
Your best bet is a 2005+ Honda Trx400ex.

It will shine in the woods, not alot of clutch work, plenty of torque and alot of mods available if you want more power.

CJM
04-22-2011, 10:33 PM
yep, cant beat the old 400ex. Stupid simple, reliable and easy to work on.

Only other quads Id recommend is the Honda 450R or the Yamaha YFZ450 if you want to step up to a high performance race machine.

However the EX will do fine if your used to riding utilitys.

kbnorth99
04-22-2011, 10:40 PM
I started riding last summer. I bought a 2006 Honda 400ex because of it's simplicity and reliability. If I'm not mistaken it's the best selling ATV of all time.