PDA

View Full Version : Diagnosis Help

Baley69
04-22-2011, 08:46 AM
Bike – 1999 Yamaha Blaster stock except a pipe. Had fuel, and oil in the injector reservoir.

Problem – My son was riding at the dunes on the flats, probably high RPM’s and the quad stalled. I jumped on it and could not budge the kick start. Towed it back, and got it to kick, but will not start. Have not touched it since.

I'm afraid it blew, but I have no experience with 2 strokes, and do not know what to do from here.

fearlessfred
04-22-2011, 03:21 PM
you can do a compression check to confirm that you seized the piston,but if it was me i would go ahead and pull the topend.its very easy on the blaster.if you need instuctions just ask

Baley69
04-23-2011, 08:21 AM
I have had this quad for over two years, and have no idea when the last rebuild was anyways, I think that is a good idea. Im I better off pulling the engine out of the chassis?

trailrider894
04-23-2011, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by fearlessfred
you can do a compression check to confirm that you seized the piston,but if it was me i would go ahead and pull the topend.its very easy on the blaster.if you need instuctions just ask

He can't do a compression test if he can't kick over the motor. Take off the top end.. Chances are the pistons just seized and now it is stuck. Just yank the top ends off while its still on the quad and see what's wrong. If the piston is missing a skirt or pieces have fallen off, you will have to either split the case to make sure there isn't any hunks of stuff in the case that could damage any of the tranny parts. Check the cylinder for any deep scarring or damage. If there is any deep scarring or damage you will either have to get your cylinder replated or re-sleeved. Also check to make sure your crank rod doesn't have a lot of side to side play, if it does you will more than likely need to replace the crank. Hope that helps!!!

ridehonda400ex
04-23-2011, 01:22 PM