PDA

View Full Version : New to YFZ

moore020
04-04-2011, 11:11 AM
I am new to the YFZ. Yesterday I bought a 2004 YFZ 450. I dont believe that it has any engine work done to it. It does have the FMF Powerbomb Full Exhaust.

It is backfiring on deceleration, I am thinking that it is running lean. Any guesses to what it needs to be jetted to? It still has a stock air filter on it, but I plan to change it to a No-Toil.

What are some of the first things you would do to a YFZ if you just bought it used?

BTW, does anyone have an electronic manual they could send me?

JoePA
04-04-2011, 11:11 PM
Welcome!! to the YFZ world! You are going tolove the YFZ!

If it were me this is what I would do. Get yourself some good oil, oil filter, air filter, new plug, GYTR jet kit, 35 or 40 leak jet and a Hot cams shim kit.

First thing is lets check those valves and see how they are doing. Get the front plastics off and remove the gas tank, Pull the valve cover off and Set the timing so it's at Top Dead Center (TDC) Once it's up on TDC you can also check to see if the Cam mod was done. If not I recommend that you do that. Check your valves to see if they are in spec. You may need to replace some shims in the intake valves to get them into spec. If you need to reshim and do the cam mod..re shim the valves then do the cam mod last.