PDA

View Full Version : 70cc A/C top end kit? Polini / malossi

miniquaddad90
04-01-2011, 10:46 AM
Building a 70cc A/C for XC racing. This motor came with a quad we bought. It was low on compression so no clue what it ran like. It had a Malossi MHR replica top-end. I am a total CVT newbie so looking for opinions on which kit to buy. The Malossi cylinder is prob salvageable but would need bored out, havent seen any "oversize" pistons so was looking at the top-end kits out there. This is not for nationals or anything, just need something decent and mainly reliable

Also, the rod is stamped "rocket" is this a stock crank?

Thanks ya'll!!

hotquads1
04-01-2011, 12:24 PM
for XC racing you may not want a high rpm kit such as the malossi , boring and replating the malossi would be a couple of hundred dollars and then you must buy the piston kit and gasket kit , so for the best budget i would condsider Motofroce 70 kit or a Sport pro kit, either would be less than 300 for everything you need. I am not sure what crank you have but the main thing you'll need to know is 10mm or 12mm , measure the inside of the top-end bearing (needle bearing) .

miniquaddad90
04-01-2011, 12:29 PM
Thanks! I'll measure the pin but Im pretty sure its a 10mm. This motor has polini clutch set-up which not a clue what it is set up for. Is there a "general guideline" to follow for set up? I have a 28mm oko and a Hetrick pipe on it with current 90cc motor but my 7yo wants to run the 70cc class. Figured I would use the same pipe but with a 24 or 26mm oko carb. Thoughts?

miniquaddad90
04-01-2011, 12:42 PM
Do you guys sell those 2 kits?

hotquads1
04-01-2011, 02:13 PM
I believe all of the dealers here on the forum as well as us sell these kits but A/C kits are not as common now that l/c is the norm , so may have to hunt around to find it in stock .

nordic quad
04-01-2011, 02:39 PM
How about Airsal T6 Asso a very nice mid race kit,a nice low end and a few extra rpms on top.
Stein A

fastrnrik