PDA

View Full Version : Hello All! I got my kids first whip!

Doug10
03-30-2011, 10:33 PM
Well after waiting and waiting Junior is getting to the age to begin to ride so i went out and scored this for him. I am totally new to this mini atv thing. I used to race MX on a YFZ450 and I know my 4-strokes but not this 2 stroke game. He turns 4 in may and thats when we will start turning some laps at the local pee wee track. (living in the city limits yard space) Ill post up what I know about the bike and some observations I made. Hopefully you guys can chime in and keep my on an even keel.

2002 Scrambler

Engine has Malossi hi-comp oring head on there now with stock piston and jug. Jug has had some porting work done, im sure the previous owner jetted the carb since his daughter raced TT with it and was rather sucessful. The exhaust system is homemade with a 250R head pipe i believe, to a blimp pipe off a dirt bike and then looks like a cobra muffler at the end. Sounds good. Runs the best on 110 but for this season i dont for see junior getting more than 1/4 to half throttle so im thinking the jetting is off. Currently geared with a 18-35 setup, which id like to change to more mx friendly gear.

Suspension is Gold Speed Racing A-Arms and Gold Speed Racing Swingarm. I think the a-arms are +1.5 or 2.0 and the swing arm is a +1 i think. The shocks mount in the stock locations and the bike now has the absolutely horrible stock shocks.

His hands are rather small and im working on mending the thumb lever to lay closer to the handlebar and possibly cutting a tiny bit of spring out of the carb slide. She is stiff. The bars look to be aftermarket MSR's but sure are awful wide.

I really just wanted to get him out putting some time in, but my focus now is on 2 things. Better shocks and getting her a little wider in the arsh end since she is stock width back there.