PDA

View Full Version : 490?

killer400ex
03-13-2011, 03:20 PM
ok so ive been building bikes and quads for a few years now so i think i know my way around a machine, let alone a machine i own and learned alot from, some idiot kid keeps telling me that his 400ex has a 490 motor that he has been racing mx and xc for over a year with it and that it is more reliable than my 426, first of all i have built a few 400's in the past and the highest build i ever went with was a 460 and we wound up just making it a straight drag quad because we had multiple issues with it over heating and what not, also i know alot of people on here do not recommend going above a 440 for mx or xc because of reliability issues, idk there might be such a thing as a 490 for a 400ex but i cant see it being reliable what so ever. what would it even be? i know that the biggest bore size you can go with a 400 is 440 so that must have a massive stroke. im just double checking because im tired of this kid running his mouth about his machine WHICH just so happens to be one of the 400 ex's i have rebuilt before, so i know what he used to have in it because i rebuilt his entire quad for him

10sball
03-13-2011, 03:31 PM
google four stroke tech. they make a 500cc kit for it. reliable? prolly not, but i think the main reason most peoples big 400ex motors aren't "reliable" is because they don't compensate for it. like 440s with stock tanks, coolers, studs, and no fans lol.

killer400ex
03-13-2011, 03:39 PM