PDA

View Full Version : So you thin the ethanol blended gas is good eh?

CJM
03-12-2011, 03:04 PM
I wish I had taken pictures of what I found when I recently got my 450r carb ready to clean, but I was just to annoyed at it all.

Upon removing the bowl the entire inside was coated with that oxidized copper like residue due to the ethanol in the gas. Old gas turns to varnish..thats easy to clean, this stuff with stood brake and carb clean, I soaked it in mineral spirits and still nothing.

Finally a friend told me has has some yamaha carb dip solution and leaving in overnight it worked.

Never have I seen a carb this bad till they switched to this E10 or E15 crap. Cant wait till we forced to use E85 everywhere...

I found a pic online of something similar to what i got. Was just as nasty except mine was all green: http://blogs.consumerreports.org/.a/6a00d83451e0d569e2011571523846970b-pi

Wheelie
03-12-2011, 05:36 PM
I've been running 70% Ethanol for over 2 years and haven't had any issues to date. I've intentionally let my quad sit for 5 months to see if it would cause any issues, it fires right up and the carb is as clean as it was new.

CJM
03-12-2011, 06:26 PM
I dont get it wheelie, the junk that was inside this carb was not the varnish old gas usually turns to, its downright nasty!

Maybe its something they blend into the gas in NJ, IDK.

Wheelie
03-12-2011, 06:40 PM
Today's gasoline is garbage, I won't deny that. However, I don't think the ethanol is to blame, it's the poor blends of today's gasoline and ethanol gets the blame.

If everyone blames 10% of the fuel for all the problems, then my quad should be a train wreck running 7 times that amount. This is not the case.

Heck, I dump 4 or 5 gallons of E-85 in my 86 EFI 5.0 Mustang two times each spring when I fill up the tank. It puts any injector cleaner on the market to shame, does wonders for how this 25 year old car runs. Been doing this for a couple years and have zero issues.