PDA

View Full Version : Radar Detectors.

trailrider894
02-23-2011, 11:21 AM
So, how many of you own one???

I am a criminal justice student, i recently was riding along with a MSHP Trooper on I-70 in St.Louis. I asked him whether Radar Detectors Actually work.

The answer? Yes.

The problem? MSHP does not run a radar at all times. The Radar is turned on for a split second to get the speed then shut off. It is such a fast process that your radar detector will not even pick it up half of the time.

So I asked him, " then why do people buy them? ". He said " People buy them because they think it is going to help them avoid the police, but in reality they paid $200+ dollars for something that will alert them that they were just caught speeding. My advice to you is to save the money for the lawyer, because any good Trooper will get you anyway."

Scro
02-23-2011, 11:51 AM
I had one at one time, and can say that it alerted me most of the time when a cop was coming. For the times that I was speeding and it didn't alert me, the passing patrol man never tapped his brakes. That trooper's technique would work, but I would guess most aren't going to go through the hassle of doing it.

trailrider894
02-23-2011, 11:53 AM
Originally posted by Scro
I had one at one time, and can say that it alerted me most of the time when a cop was coming. For the times that I was speeding and it didn't alert me, the passing patrol man never tapped his brakes. That trooper's technique would work, but I would guess most aren't going to go through the hassle of doing it.

Yeah... hence his " any good trooper will get you. ".

honda400ex2003
02-23-2011, 12:41 PM
lol never used one and dont have one in any of our cars. i just dont really speed more than 506 over most of the time.

steve

trailrider894
02-23-2011, 12:54 PM
Originally posted by honda400ex2003
lol never used one and dont have one in any of our cars. i just dont really speed more than 506 over most of the time.

steve