PDA

View Full Version : Clutch lever hard to pull..suggestions?

tkatc
02-13-2003, 09:10 AM
First let me say that I am a newbie. Second let me say that I have ridden quads, dirt bikes, street bikes, etc. so I know what a clutch SHOULD feel like. I have done a search here and have read a few things that might be the cause of my problem, i.e. frozen cable, not lubed enough. I just bought this 400ex last night. It was cold and the bike looked very clean so they probably cleaned it well with water. (Lending to the theory of a frozen cable.) I am going to try and lube it up and wrm it up also and see if that helps. I hope it does. But if not....what else could cause such a problem? If it turns out not to be a cable problem then what might it be? The bike seems to shift fine through the gears but that damn lever is gonna give me Popeye forearms in less than an hour. Those miguri hydraulic levers look very nice but very pricey. Any help guys??

Pappy
02-13-2003, 09:14 AM
mine was the same way...id lube it and it would be fine.

but ...after being around a ton of guys that race non -stop....flat out replacing the cable when it gets crappy seems to be the best way.

using a better clutch perch and lever will help a ton also...ris...works etc with better leverage will be a big boost also

odie
02-13-2003, 11:06 AM
my clutch was the same way.I would wash it and the cable would be frozen.one day I was pissed at it because it was froze,pulled on it as hard as I could and the cable broke,had to get a new cable and it works so much smoother now.

SobeAHonda
02-13-2003, 11:45 AM
I would probably suggest to either buy a new clutch cable, or buy a E-Z Pull Clutch. I am going to get one pretty soon. I think it might be that time is starting to wear into your clutch and it is just wearing out.:)

4TraxRider
02-13-2003, 11:54 AM
Give teh pivots on the lever a little bit of grease, it helps a little.

dariusld
02-13-2003, 12:13 PM