PDA

View Full Version : XC Budget

THR36
01-20-2011, 08:05 PM
On a budget and wondering a few things.
im buying a brand new 450 and this is my first year racing.
i was wondering if it was necessary for dual rear beadlock rims? or would it be ok if i got single beadlock with that be ok?
also what should be some of the first things i should put on the bike and then slowly put more on the bike as the year goes on.

i thought do the wheels tires and tire foam/tires balls not sure yet.
then possibly slip on exhaust
and or stabalizer.

any ideas of what direction i should go into?

ridehonda400ex
01-20-2011, 08:11 PM
pipe, suspension, good tires, a-arms, jet or power commander. then get into big engine mods. no sense in having an all mighty powerful engine if you cant use that power to its full potential because of bad suspension causing you to bounce all over.

Scro
01-20-2011, 08:13 PM
You're on the right track. You want to be able to finish the race and be comfortable while you are riding to being with....good tires, tireballs, a good set of skids, the right bar height, etc. Next, you want to upgrade the suspension. This will make you faster than any other mod money can buy. The last thing you want to worry about is motor work. You can't use the extra power, if you can't get it to the ground through the suspension. I would atleast get a pipe, though, so you can hear your motor running.

THR36
01-20-2011, 08:16 PM
what about the rear wheels should i have single or dual beadlocks?

Scro
01-20-2011, 08:26 PM
Single will be fine. The dual is overkill, because there is never enough pressure put on the inside bead when riding to break it.

THR36
01-20-2011, 08:30 PM
yah cause its a huge price difference between the two. so i just got to figure out where i want to go from here.

bike
wheels
tires
tire foam
prob all that first.

fastredrider44
01-21-2011, 02:34 PM