PDA

View Full Version : drr 50

dgmiller
01-20-2011, 10:00 AM
i am NEW to these machines and i am totally lost. i bought my son a 2006 drr 50 with a chris grissum ported head and cylinder it also has a after market carb on it with some ignition upgrades. when i bought drr the previous owner told me i need some new clutch parts so now my question is i'm wanting to get a hetrick gen 2 pipe and new clutches, reed valves, rollers and any other parts i need? i've already talked to hetrick racing about the parts thats where i plan on buying the parts just want some insight on what to buy. thanks

JIM GRACE
01-20-2011, 10:34 AM
Our first race quad wAs a 06 drr 50. We had a lot of success with stock ( yamasida) clutches and variator's. The next best thing would be a Stage 6 adjustable clutch. I am sure a lot has changed in the past 4 years.

If you are running the production class that allows mods then the sky is the limit.

Hope this helps, you can pm me also with ?

dgmiller
01-20-2011, 10:47 AM
yes he will be racing in the production class of the IATVHSS.

EthansDad
01-20-2011, 10:51 AM
Hey miller -
what size carb is on that? 16mm, 20mm, 21mm?

do you happen to know what kind of rpms you machine is turning on the ground? likely in the range of 10-12krpms I'm guessing.

what's your design goals? mx, TT, trail?

The reason you will need new clutching is your engine mod parts will move the power curve around and your clutch needs to be mapped up with that or its wasted money in the motor mods.

don't know your motor, so some general thoughts on clutch parts -

yamasita variator (stock DRR) - we like it to. if you are getting more RPMs, then the job here will likely be to lower the roller weights. what are you running now? somewhere from 3.0-3.5g per weight will be a target.

belt - 780 is a safe bet, works good on the 50s. might get a bit more from a 782, may not depending on your rpms you target.