PDA

View Full Version : any union ironworkers?

buck440
01-16-2011, 07:05 AM
i had some questions for union structural erecting ironworkers if any on here?

Ruby Soho
01-16-2011, 08:49 AM
my old man and his entire side of the family are.:macho

nwi45
01-16-2011, 09:51 AM
What's your question?

buck440
01-16-2011, 11:33 AM
i was just curious what it would be like for a first year apprentice from day 1 what would he be doing?

DnB_racing
01-16-2011, 11:48 AM
im not a union iron worker but i am a union electrician, and I can say from day one you will be learning the equipment!! and safety practices,,,, KEEP YOU MOUTH SHUT AND EARS AND EYES OPEN!!!!!!!

nwi45
01-16-2011, 12:41 PM
Who knows with iron workers, most of them are reckless. Probably have a first year walking beams and making crane picks haha.

But seriously the post above is pretty accurate. Probably learn the basics of stuff and safety.

250x_kyle
01-16-2011, 02:00 PM
Originally posted by DnB_racing
im not a union iron worker but i am a union electrician, and I can say from day one you will be learning the equipment!! and safety practices,,,, KEEP YOU MOUTH SHUT AND EARS AND EYES OPEN!!!!!!!

someone hit that nail on the head.

Ruby Soho
01-16-2011, 07:30 PM
id pick another job imo. its not worth beating yourself up so bad. its truly a brutal job

buck440
01-16-2011, 07:46 PM
i like to feel like crap at the end of the day because i know i did something. i like to look back and say i built that to my best. it is as american as hotdogs or baseball unlike most jobs. it can give that adrenalin rush that i crave everyday. in every way this job is my match of coarse you dont know me and you wouldn't know that.

Ruby Soho
01-16-2011, 09:08 PM
well i was going to follow in my dads footsteps, but seeing him @ 50 is not how i want to end up. on your knee's welding all day everyday in 0 degree weather isn't fun. maybe when your young but it will get old.

just sayin.

bimcgo1
01-16-2011, 10:29 PM