PDA

View Full Version : Push start button

JimmyJ1387
01-04-2011, 12:59 PM
I bought a 2003 Honda 300ex and the wiring is at 97% complete. They bought a new handle bar switch. it doesnt have the key because its by passed and in order to start the bike u have to hot start it by the cylinoid. Whats the correct way to by pass the key because they have it all going to the head light plug and all i want is to have the push button to work so i dont have to keep hot starting it. Theres a wire plugged into the right side of light plug and going to the botton slot on the light plug with a wire connected to the red wire going to the handle bar switch. in order to have bike start u gotta push the headlight button then hot start it so any idea guys on how to make the push button work??? im thinking wire it to the starter its self.

wilkin250r
01-04-2011, 01:16 PM
Yeah, I can help you figure it out, I'm an electrical engineer. But I don't have the answer right now because I'm not exactly sure what you're talking about.

But I can certainly help you get there. Do you have a multimeter, capable of measuring voltage, and resistance? And do you know how to use it properly, selecting the proper range, and all of that stuff?

JimmyJ1387
01-04-2011, 01:19 PM
i have a ohms meter will that work. im goig to school for electricain. I kno how to use it. i used on my old blaster to check to see if its getting the right current

JimmyJ1387
01-04-2011, 03:04 PM
on this pic there is a red wire connecting to the top of plug and left side and there is a red wire (ignition wire) tied with the left side wire

fearlessfred
01-04-2011, 04:53 PM